top of page

Meet Anthony Schultz


Anthony Shultz believes in the power of visual storytelling as an instigator of social thought. Anthony is driven to produce photography that explores topics including the changing environment, cultural institutions, and the human spirit. The Fletcher School has provided Anthony space and networks to better understand these issues and the context in which they operate around the globe. This past summer, Anthony worked in Johannesburg as a documentary photography fellow with the Mail & Guardian newspaper. Anthony was born in the UK, grew up in Wisconsin, and has spent significant time working in education as a school teacher and project manager.


Why do you want to go to Pakistan?

Pakistan holds particular weight as one of my regional fields of study. I’m particularly interested in the web of relationships that comprises Pakistan’s culture, national security orientation, nuclear ambitions, and tensions with India. This trek offers a unique opportunity to gain deeper understanding of these relationships in a way that I have yet to be able to do, through engaging with various nuances of Pakistan's religion and culture first-hand. I am committed to saturating my experience at Fletcher with as much exposure to “cultural capital” as possible. I have had the fortune of experiencing multiple incredibly unique cultures around the world through my personal and professional travels. I certainly would not be who I am without these experiences, and as a result, constantly seek additional experiences that change and challenge me ever so slightly in my effort to better understand this immensely diverse world we all live and operate in. Participating in this trek would further my personal growth in this realm, and I am confident it will further inspire me to challenge my cultural exposure in the years ahead.


bottom of page